Technical Advisory Committee

Background

The Illegal Dumping Technical Advisory Committee (IDTAC) provides ongoing expertise for CalRecycle and the state of California, is comprised of voluntary members, and is not required to function under the statutory requirements of a legislative or department-created committee. Started as a Task Force in 2006, the group evolved into today’s technical advisory committee and relative subcommittees given the long-term problems associated with illegal dumping. The IDTAC continues to assess the extent and cost of the illegal dumping, while sharing their findings, best practices, and strategies in the Illegal Dumping Resources Toolbox.

2020 Work Plan

Recently, the IDTAC identified the need to update its original work plan. The 2020 Work Plan entails developing fresh resources and tools for jurisdictions, communities, contractors, and others to assist in addressing current illegal dumping issues.

Subcommittees

Subcommittees are comprised of IDTAC members and interested persons who assist the IDTAC on specific illegal dumping issues. Updates on subcommittee activities are provided during IDTAC meetings. To get involved in a subcommittee, please contact the subcommittee chair (see contact info in Committee Member table below).

 

first - hidden

This panel is set up and hidden to resolve a glitch in the accordion module that leaves open the first panel on page load. By hiding this first one, all other panels on the page will be closed.

Strategy Subcommittee (Chair: Carlos Duque)

Develop strategies for:

  • Guidance for creating and facilitating local and regional partnerships with public agencies, private entities, and/or non-profits
  • Measures for establishing and maintaining cleanup programs
  • Identifying available funding resources
  • Development of benchmarks or methods to gauge program effectiveness
  • Addressing and incorporating environmental justice into programs

Outreach Subcommittee (Chair: Veronica Pardo)

Develop concepts for:

  • Education and outreach methods for preventing illegal dumping, including measures to facilitate community involvement including reward programs
  • Property owners to address illegal dumping on their property
  • Effective tools for discouraging future incidents
  • Applications to report illegal dumping activities
  • Effective news and social media outreach and involvement to publicize illegal dumping convictions including case studies

Standards Subcommittee (Chair: Larry Sweetser)

Develop standards related to:

  • Cleanups of illegal dumping sites
  • Identify levels for training personnel involved in cleanups
  • Develop consistent data collection criteria
  • Identify guidance for reporting and tracking cleanup costs
  • Updating homeless encampments cleanup guidance
  • Health and safety measures

Enforcement Subcommittee (Co-Chairs: Alyce Sandbach & Gonzalo Barriga)

Develop methods for creating effective enforcement tools including:

  • Available federal, state, local solid waste codes, ordinances, administrative orders, and other measures available as enforcement tools
  • Case studies on effective enforcement and deterrents to illegal dumping
  • Guidance on developing local Illegal Dumping Enforcement Officers and enforcement teams
  • Measures that can hinder implementation of enforcement programs and potential prosecution
  • Examples of how to document evidence successfully.
  • Information on effective surveillance systems

Quick Links

IDTAC Meetings

Upcoming Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

  • June 8, 2022, 1 – 4:30 pm

Sign up for the Illegal Dumping listserv to receive updates about future meetings and illegal dumping resources.

Past Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

Technical Advisory Committee Members

For a list of past advisory committee/task force members and committee history, please see Illegal Dumping Task Force and Technical Advisory Committee History.

Committee MemberAffiliationContact
Larry Sweetser (Chair)Environmental Services Joint Powers Authoritysweetser@hazman.us
Doug Kobold (Vice Chair)California Product Stewardship Councildoug@calpsc.org
Erin Armstrong, representing Supervisor Nate MileyAlameda County/ California State Association of CountiesErin.Armstrong@acgov.org
Gonzalo BarrigaCity of Los Angeles Sanitation and Environment, Watershed Protection DivisionGonzalo.Barriga@lacity.org
Marr Christian/Mark AzzouniCalifornia Hazardous Materials Investigators Associationinland.empire.director@chmia.com 
president@chmia.com
Mark De BieCalRecyclemark.debie@calrecycle.ca.gov
Derek DolfieLeague of California Citiesddolfie@cacities.org
Carlos DuqueCity of Elk Grove Public Works, Recycling and Wastecduque@elkgrovecity.org
Justine Fallon/Taylor GrimesMattress Recycling Counciljfallon@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org 
tgrimes@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org
Maria FerdinMonterey County Illegal Dumping Task ForceFerdinme@co.monterey.ca.us
Christine FlowersKeep California Beautifulchristine@cfenviro.com
Frank Foster/Jamaica MoonCity of Oakland Public Works, Environmental Servicesffoster@oaklandca.gov 
jmoon@oaklandca.gov
Traci GlavesPublic Member Representativesjdeltaneighborhoodwatch@gmail.com
Rob HutselSan Diego River Park Foundationrhutsel@sandiegoriver.org
Gary HarrisCity of Los Angeles Bureau of Street Services, Investigation and Enforcement Divisiongary.harris@lacity.org
Ted HortonSacramento Co. Dept. of Waste Management & Recyclinghortont@saccounty.net
Hasti JavidCalifornia Environmental Protection Agencyhasti.javid@calepa.ca.gov
Nick LapisCalifornians Against Wastenicklapis@cawrecycles.org
Avneet MahilCity of Manteca, Solid Waste Association of North Americaamahil@ci.manteca.ca.us
Eva MannCity of Richmond Code Enforcementeva_mann@ci.richmond.ca.us
Trent ManningCalTranstrent_manning@dot.ca.gov
Veronica PardoResource Recovery Coalition of Californiaveronica@resourcecoalition.org
Heidi SanbornNational Stewardship Action Councilheidi@nsaction.us
Alyce Sandbach/Jennifer (Kibbe) DayAlameda County DA’s Office/San Joaquin County DA’s Officealyce.sandbach@acgov.org 
Jennifer.Day@sjcda.org
Tedd WardDel Norte County Solid Waste Authoritytedd@recycledelnorte.ca.gov
Sara Weaver California Conservation Corps Region IIIsara.Weaver@ccc.ca.gov
Olympia WilliamsCity of San Jose BeautifySJ InitiativeOlympia.Williams@sanjoseca.gov
VacantWaste Management Industry
VacantCalifornia Conference of Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH) Representative
VacantCounty Engineers Association
VacantCalifornia Waste Haulers Council