Precertification Training

Precertification training classes and examinations will be conducted in-person only. Renewal applicants have the option to attend in person or online. In-person classes will be conducted in Southern and Northern California, monthly, as needed. To register for a Precertification Training class, please submit a registration form, through email, indicating the requested location. Renewal applicants may indicate the requested location/format. Precertification training and examinations may be cancelled if, 5 business days prior to the scheduled training class there is not a minimum of 5 registered participants.

Preregistration form (PDF).

SB 96 (Chapter 356, Statutes of 2013), signed by Governor Brown in September 2013, requires both new and renewing certification applicants to take a Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) training class and score at least 80 percent on a written test to qualify to apply for certification as a recycling center or processing facility. This training will prepare attendees to meet the certification requirements, adhere to program rules, and be better prepared for successful participation in the Beverage Container Recycling Program. At least two classes will be scheduled per month, one in Northern California and one in Southern California.

PLEASE NOTE: You must print out the form and sign it prior to submitting it. We do not accept digital signatures.

Unit policy requires a 48-hour response time to email inquiries.

Registrations are processed in the order they are received.

If the class becomes full or registration has closed, staff will reach out and request you select an available class date.

For questions and/or additional information on precertification, please contact the Recycler Education and Exams Unit at
RecyclerEducationAndExams@calrecycle.ca.gov or by phone at (916) 323-3008.

Training Dates and Locations

Class DateTimeLocation/FormatLanguage
May 20, 2024
CANCELLED
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEspañol
May 21, 2024
REGISTRATION CLOSED
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEnglish
June 5, 2024
Must register by May 28, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Thousand OaksEnglish
June 6, 2024
Must register by May 29, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Thousand OaksEspañol
June 19, 2024
Must register by May 31, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)Español
June 20, 2024
Must register by May 31, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)English
June 27, 2024
Must register by Jun. 19, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEnglish
June 28, 2024
Must register by Jun. 20, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEspañol
July 10, 2024
Must register by Jul. 1, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.RosemeadEnglish
July 11, 2024
Must register by Jul. 2, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.RosemeadEspañol
July 23, 2024
Must register by Jul. 15, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEnglish
July 24, 2024
Must register by Jul. 16, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEspañol
July 30, 2024
Must register by Jul. 12, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)English
July 31, 2024
Must register by Jul. 12, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)Español
August 21, 2024
Must register by Aug. 13, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.OxnardEnglish
August 22, 2024
Must register by Aug. 14, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.OxnardEspañol
September 11, 2024
Must register by Sept. 3, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.ClaremontEnglish
September 12, 2024
Must register by Sept. 4, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.ClaremontEspañol
September 25, 2024
Must register by Sept. 6, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)Español
September 26, 2024
Must register by Sept. 6, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)English
October 2, 2024
Must register by Sept. 24, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.CarlsbadEnglish
October 3, 2024
Must register by Sept. 25, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.CarlsbadEspañol
October 15, 2024
Must register by Oct. 7, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEnglish
October 16, 2024
Must register by Oct. 8, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEspañol
October 23, 2024
Must register by Oct. 4, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)Español
October 24, 2024
Must register by Oct. 4, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Online/Zoom (Renewals)English
November 6, 2024
Must register by Oct. 29, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.RosemeadEnglish
November 7, 2024
Must register by Oct. 30, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.RosemeadEspañol
November 26, 2024
Must register by Nov. 19, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEnglish
November 27, 2024
Must register by Nov. 20, 2024
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.Elk GroveEspañol

Class schedule is updated periodically. Please check back for more classes.

Prospective Applicants

Prior to submitting a certification application for a recycling center or processing facility, the applicant must attend training and score at least 80 percent on a written test in order to receive an application voucher. You must preregister for the training class at least five business days prior to class date.

Preregister for Training (PDF). You must preregister and receive a confirmation in order to be admitted to the class. Failing to preregister will result in not being admitted to the class–NO EXCEPTIONS.

When you arrive for the training you will need to present the following in order to gain admittance to the class:

  • A valid Driver License or Identification Card issued by the State of California, or
  • A United States federal or state government-issued photo identification, and
  • Proof of your Federal Tax Identification number or Social Security card.

The legal name provided on the class registration form must match the photo identification card. No attendee substitutions will be made on the day of the class.

Renewal Applicants

PLEASE NOTE: You must print out the form and sign it prior to submitting it. We are unable to accept digital signatures at this time.

If you currently hold a certificate to operate a State-certified recycling center or processing facility, you will be required to attend training and score at least 80 percent on a written test in order to receive an application voucher prior to submitting a renewal application. Effective April 1, 2024, Renewal Applicants will have the option to take an In-person training or virtual.

You must complete the Preregistration form (PDF).

Please confirm your certification expiration date before attending the training. The expiration date on your certification may be a Probationary End Date, and not a Renewal Date. Your voucher must be used to submit a new or renewal application within 6 months, or the training and examination process will need to be repeated. Once you obtain an application voucher and renew your certification, you will not need to participate in training again for five years.