Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling

Quick Links

  • Commission Documents: Documents for Commission and Committee meetings are hosted outside of CalRecycle’s domain on Google Drive. CalRecycle does not maintain or control the contents of the host site or the linked documents.
  • Listserv: Subscribe to the Listserv to receive updates about scheduled meetings and agendas.
  • Watch Commission Meetings: Recordings of full commission meetings are available outside of CalRecycle’s domain. CalRecycle can also provide recordings of commission and committee meetings upon request.

Get Email Updates About
Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling

*For public convenience, CalRecycle is posting the Final Report and Preliminary Report on behalf of the Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling (Commission). AB 1583 (Eggman, Chapter 690, Statues of 2019) tasked the Commission as an independent advisory board to provide these policy recommendations. CalRecycle provides administrative support to the Commission and has not had any role in the preparation of this report or the recommendations contained therein. Therefore, any substantive questions regarding this Report should be addressed directly to the Commission via the Public Comment Portal.


In 2019, Governor Newsom signed into law The California Recycling Market Development Act (AB 1583, Eggman, Chapter 690, Statutes of 2019). Public Resources Code Section 42005.5 requires CalRecycle to convene by July 1, 2020, a Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling consisting of representative of public agencies, private solid waste enterprises, and environmental organizations that have expertise in recycling. View the full text of the Act.

In 2020, Governor Newsom signed into law AB 2287 (Eggman, Chapter 281, Statutes of 2020), which requires the commission to issue preliminary recommendations on or before January 1, 2021, and to issue policy recommendations and identify products that are recyclable or compostable and regularly collected in curbside recycling programs by July 1, 2021. The bill also requires the commission to provide an opportunity for the public to review and provide comment before finalizing a recommendation or identifying a product described above. The bill also authorizes the commission to share the recommendations and identifications with the Legislature or any state or federal agency. View the full text of the act.

All meetings are subject to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act.

Commission Meetings

Commission meetings will be held on the first and third Wednesday of the month. Links to the public notices can be found below:

For meetings held in 2020, please see the CalRecycle Public Notices webpage.



Thermoforms (disbanded on February 16, 2022)

Members: John Davis, Jeff Donlevy, Laura Ferrante, Joseph Kalpakoff, Nick Lapis, Alex Oseguera, Heidi Sanborn (Chair)

Committee of the Whole (disbanded on October 6, 2021)

Members: John Bouchard, Deborah Cadena, John Davis, Jan Dell, Jeff Donlevy, Laura Ferrante, Joseph Kalpakoff, Nick Lapis, Manuel Medrano, Alex Oseguera, Heidi Sanborn, Coby Skye, Ann Schneider, Sara Toyoda, Richard Valle, Tedd Ward

Market Development (disbanded on September 1, 2021)

Members: John Davis (Chair), Manuel Medrano, Heidi Sanborn, Ann Schneider (Vice-Chair), Sara Toyoda

Organics (disbanded on September 1, 2021)

Members: Deborah Cadena, Laura Ferrante, Joseph Kalpakoff (Chair), Nick Lapis, Alex Oseguera, Coby Skye, Tedd Ward (Vice-Chair)

Recycling (disbanded on September 1, 2021)

Members: John Bouchard, Jan Dell, Jeff Donlevy (Chair), Laura Ferrante, Joseph Kalpakoff, Nick Lapis, Alex Oseguera (Vice-Chair), Richard Valle

Labeling and Media (disbanded on September 1, 2021)

Members: John Davis, Jan Dell (Chair), Jeff Donlevy, Ann Schneider (Vice-Chair), Coby Skye, Sara Toyoda


John BouchardTeamsters 350, Principle Officer
Deborah CadenaKern County Recycling
John DavisMojave Desert and Mountain Recycling Authority
Jan DellThe Last Beach Cleanup, Founder
Jeff DonlevyMing’s Recycling, General Manager
Laura FerranteWaste Alternatives, Owner
Joseph KalpakoffMid Valley Disposal, CEO
Nick LapisCalifornians Against Waste, Director of Advocacy 
Manuel MedranoCity of Chula Vista, Environmental Services Manager 
Alex OsegueraWaste Management, Director of Government Affairs 
Heidi Sanborn National Stewardship Action Council
Ann SchneiderMillbrae Mayor
Coby SkyeLA County Public Works, Assistant Deputy Director
Sara ToyodaCity of Indio, Environmental Programs Coordinator
Richard Valle
(Resigned 6/2/2022)
Tri-CED Community Recycling, CEO
Tedd WardDel Norte Solid Waste Management Director

Implementation Timeline

Recycling Commission Timeline