Manufacturers of regulated plastic trash bags, of 0.7 mil or greater in thickness intended for sale in California, must comply with the Recycled Content Trash Bag Law. This includes minimum content recycled plastic postconsumer material (RPPCM) use and reporting requirements.
The regulations provide a definition of terms, including “Manufacturer.” The definitions and information in the regulations describe the Program requirements.
The Law allows plastic trash bag Manufacturers two methods to comply:
- Plastic trash bags, intended for sale in California, must contain Actual Postconsumer Material (APCM) equal to at least 10 percent by weight of the regulated plastic trash bags.
- All of the Manufacturers’ plastic products intended for sale in California must contain at least 30 percent by weight of recycled APCM.
Annual Certification Requirements
Plastic trash bag Manufacturers are required to submit the Manufacturer Certification Form (CIWMB 57) by March 1 of each year.
The certification form is also published under 14 CCR Division 7, Chapter 9, Appendix A Forms.
The certification requires data from the previous calendar year (January 1 to December 31) including, but not limited to:
- Company name, headquarters mailing address, telephone number, and contact person
- The number and tons of regulated plastic trash bags sold from each manufacturing location
- The tons of RPPCM and APCM purchased and used to manufacture plastic trash bags, or all plastic products intended for sale in California
- Physical address of each site which manufacture regulated trash bags
- List of every Supplier from which the company purchased RPPCM during the reporting period