Recycled-Content Newsprint Compliance and Enforcement
CalRecycle oversees the Recycled Content Newsprint (RCN) program pursuant to Public Resources Code (PRC) Sections 42750 through 42791 and California Code of Regulations Title 14 (14 CCR) Sections 17950 through 17974. Any person who does not comply with the RCN statute is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
Information regarding penalties for noncompliance can be found in the RCN statue and regulations.
CalRecycle’s enforcement orders page includes information on enforcement actions.
Newsprint Consumers, Manufacturers, and Suppliers who do not comply with the law may be subject to civil penalties. CalRecycle may assess civil penalties of up to $1,000 per violation, subject to notice and hearing.
Late filers and non-filers of Newsprint Consumer Certifications (Form 430) shall be subject to the following graduated penalty structure:
- Any Consumer of Newsprint who files a certification at least 45 days late will be assessed a $500 civil penalty.
- Any Consumer of Newsprint who files a certification more than 90 days late and/or fails to file will be assessed a $1,000 civil penalty.
The RCN law directs CalRecycle to refer to the California Attorney General for prosecution for fraud, any false or misleading certifications as to the recycled content of newsprint, or reasons why a consumer was unable to obtain newsprint containing the required minimum recycled content.
Mail: CalRecycle, Attn: Recycled Content Newsprint Program, P.O. Box 4025, MS 10A-17, Sacramento, CA 95812-4025
Phone: (916) 341-6200 | Email: Newsprint@calrecycle.ca.gov | Fax: (916) 319-7777