History of California Solid Waste Law, 2020-2024


Statutes of 2020

AB 107 (Committee on Budget, Chapter 264, Statutes of 2020) State government. Among other statutory changes related to state administration, changed the frequency of reporting to the Legislature on the status of the Beverage Container Recycling Fund from every three months to every six months.

AB 793 (Ting & Irwin, Chapter 115, Statutes of 2020) Recycling: plastic beverage containers: minimum recycled content. Required beverage manufacturers to utilize minimum percentages of post-consumer recycled plastic (minimum recycled content) for all plastic beverage containers subject to the California Refund Value (CRV). The minimum recycled content requirement will increase from 15 percent on January 1, 2022, to 25 percent on January 1, 2025, to 50 percent on January 1, 2030.

AB 2287 (Eggman, Chapter 281, Statutes of 2020) Solid waste: plastic products: certification. (1) Updated the plastic labeling statute to conform with current standards for compostability and degradability; (2) Provided authority to CalRecycle to issue guidelines and adopt standards for labeling of plastic products; (3) Extended the due date of the recommendations from the Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling from January to July 2021; (4) Exempted parks, as defined, from providing recycling and organic waste bins to customers until January 1, 2022.

AB 3163 (Salas, Chapter 358, Statutes of 2020) Energy: biomethane: procurement. Expanded the definition of biomethane to include the gas derived from the noncombustion thermal conversion of certain feedstock for purposes of gas utility biomethane procurement targets.

For more information contact: Legislative and External Affairs Office, lex.office@calrecycle.ca.gov