State Certified Used Oil Collection Centers,

Including Site Visit Requirements and Forms
	Introduction
	The California Oil Recycling Enhancement Act requires oil manufacturers to pay sixteen cents ($0.16) for each gallon of lubricating oil sold for use in California.  Certified collection centers, registered industrial generators and registered curbside collection programs are eligible to receive the sixteen cents ($0.16) oil recycling incentive for each gallon of used lubricating oil recycled.


	In this chapter
	This chapter contains the following information broken down in five (5) sections:

1. Overview of state certified used oil collection centers

2. Certified center site visit requirements, including site visit forms

3. Overview of registered curbside collection programs

4. Overview of registered industrial generators

5. Appendix – a listing of registered used oil haulers, a listing of filter haulers and/or recyclers, and a listing of contacts for contaminated loads



	More Information
	For more information, please contact the Board.  The Board has certified center representatives for each County.  Please see the Used Oil Certification County Assignment table on Page 8.


 
Overview of State Certified Used Oil Collection Centers

	Definition of state certified used oil collection center 
	The Board certifies entities as used oil collection centers.  These entities provide Californians with convenient places to recycle used lubricating oil.  The state certified used oil collection centers (certified centers) accept used lubricating motor oil from the public at no charge, and offer the sixteen cents ($0.16) per gallon incentive.  The certified centers are reimbursed by the Board 16 cents for each gallon they collect from the public, and for each gallon they generate as part of their business.  Many types of facilities can be certified centers.  The possibilities include gas stations, oil change establishments, retail stores, auto part stores, ABOP and HHW facilities, municipal facilities such as corporation yards, transfer stations or fire stations, automobile dealerships, school auto shops, etc.



	Importance of certified centers
	Certified centers play a vital role in used oil and filter recycling efforts.  Most jurisdictions do not have the resources and staff to establish and operate used oil collection centers in the numbers and locations to provide the best service to the public.



	Community benefits
	Certified centers benefit your community by:

· Providing residents with convenient locations to recycle oil and filters;

· Providing a recycling option for residents that prefer utilizing collection centers not operated by the government;

· Providing residents that do not have a curbside used oil collection program with a recycling service;  

· Educating residents about recycling used oil and other household hazardous waste; and

· Qualifying your agency for Block Grant funds by satisfying the California Oil Recycling Enhancement Act’s requirements.



	Businesses benefit
	Businesses benefit from being certified by:

· Increasing sales opportunities from additional customers who bring in used oil for recycling;

· Receiving the recycling incentive.  The certified centers receive sixteen cents ($0.16) for each gallon they collect from the public, and for each gallon they generate as part of their business.  In addition, the public may donate the recycling incentive to the certified center;

· Receiving “Indemnification” for contaminated oil.  In the rare event certified centers receive contaminated oil, the certified center can be reimbursed up to five thousand dollars ($5,000 ) once a year by the Board for the additional disposal costs;

· Forming partnerships with local governments.  Such support can include purchasing storage tanks and/or drums for the oil and filters collected or placing advertisements for the centers;

· Free advertising on the Board’s website, Earth’s 911 website and 1-800-CLEANUP;

· Demonstrating their commitment to the environment; and

· Providing their customers with a valuable public service.




	Why assist certified centers
	Assisting the certified centers will help ensure they continue to be certified and provide residents with convenient locations to recycle oil and filters.  Advertising or purchasing equipment for certified centers may help them.  

Certified centers are required to advertise at least twice per year.  Since this requirement may prevent some businesses from becoming certified, Grantees can advertise for the certified centers.  Below are the requirements.



	
	Certified Center Advertisement Requirements
	Block Grant Requirements



	
	1. Name, address, and operating hours of center.

2. Indicate used lubricating oil is accepted at no charge.

3. Indicate they will offer the sixteen cents ($0.16) a gallon. Recycling incentive (or a Board approved coupon).

4. Advertise at least twice per year.
	Please see Chapter 6 – Publicity & Education



	Tip for used oil filter recycling
	The Board does not provide a recycling incentive for certified centers to collect used oil filters from the public.  However, Block Grant funds can be used to assist certified centers with used oil filter recycling costs.  Please see Chapter 13 – Used Oil Filters for more information.



	Block Grant funds can be used
	Block Grant funds can be used to assist the certified centers.  Please see Chapter 5– Eligible and Ineligible Expenditures or contact your Grant Manager for more information.  



	Visiting certified centers is important 
	Certified Centers are a critical component to a successful used oil recycling program.  The staff at these centers might be the only contact that residents have with your program.  Visiting certified centers ensures quality service to the public.  The goals of site visits are to:

· Develop positive, lasting working relationships with the certified centers;

· Ensure that center operators are knowledgeable of program requirements;

· Ensure they have tools they need to provide the best service to your jurisdiction;

· Provide outreach and assistance to the certified centers;

· Learn about the needs, concerns, and issues of the certified centers;

· Develop opportunities to promote the certified centers, and give them the option of participating in local program efforts; and

· Work with certified centers to track the amount of oil and filters they collect from the public.  This will help Grantees determine areas for target outreach and provide Grantees with information required in the Semi-Annual Reports.



	Process for reimbursing certified centers
	Once certified, a claim for reimbursement is submitted to the Accounting Claims Unit at the Board.  To receive the payment of the recycling incentive ALL claims must be submitted to the Board no later than forty-five (45) days following the end of the quarter within which the used lubricating oil is hauled to a certified recycling facility.  Please refer to the following schedule for dates.  (This information also appears on the claim form, item#5)



	
	If your used oil was hauled between:
	Claims are due by:

	
	January 1 – March 31
	May 15

	
	April 1 – June 30
	August 14

	
	July 1 – September 30
	November 14

	
	October 1 – December 31
	February 14

	Forms for reimbursement
	Certified centers submit a completed Used Oil Recycling Incentive Payment Claim/Report Form.  This form is available on the Used Oil website at http://www.ciwmb.ca.gov/HHW/Forms/.  When certified centers submit a claim, they should indicate on the envelope: Used Oil Recycling Incentive Claim Enclosed.  Additionally, the certified center shall include copies of the manifest or modified manifest receipts.



	Process for becoming a certified center
	The basic requirements for certified centers are that they must accept used lubricating oil from the public at no charge during business hours, offer the sixteen cents ($0.16) per gallon recycling incentive, and display the Board’s Certified Used Oil Collection Center Sign.  The steps are:

1. An application (CIWMB Form 29) is submitted to the Certification/Registration Unit, and Board staff determines eligibility.  The registration application is available on the Used Oil website at http://www.ciwmb.ca.gov/HHW/Forms/.

2. If eligible, the Certification/Registration Unit certifies the site and notifies the operator via letter.

3. Upon certification, the certified center operator or designee is eligible to receive the reimbursement (the oil recycling incentive).

Every two years the certified center needs to be re-certified.  Board staff sends out re-certification documents.

	Requirements
	Certified centers are a critical component to a successful used oil and filter recycling program.  Staff at these certified centers might be the only contact that residents have with your program. The best way to ensure operators are knowledgeable of program requirements, and have the tools they need to provide the best service to your jurisdiction, is to perform site visits. Grantees are encouraged to visit each certified center in their jurisdiction once every twelve months.  At a minimum, Grantees must visit the number of certified centers that qualify them to participate in the Block Grant program once every twelve months (e.g., jurisdictions with four hundred fifty-thousand (450,000) people require 5 certified collection centers).

	Site Visit Forms


	Certified Center Site Visit Forms, including instructions, can be found at the end of this section or downloaded from http://www.ciwmb.ca.gov/HHW/Forms

The Board developed an individual and a compilation Certified Center Site Visit Checklist Form.  The individual form is for one site visit while the compilation form is for three site visits.  The appropriate form should be completed when conducting site visits and submitted to your Grant Manager.  Please submit these forms no later than (thirty) 30 days after the site visit.  This allows Board staff to followup if there has been any change in operation of the center.  Board staff is also available for site visit training.




Certified center site visit requirements

	Center Assessment Questionnaire
	The Center Assessment Questionnaire has been developed as a program monitoring tool.  It contains questions for center operators that may assist Grantees in improving their programs. If completed, please provide a copy to your Grant Manager along with the site visit form.

	
	


Overview of registered curbside collection programs

	Definition of registered curbside collection programs
	The Board registers curbside collection programs.  Curbside collection programs are eligible to receive the sixteen cents ($0.16) per gallon oil recycling incentive.  Curbside collection programs are reimbursed for used lubricating oil collected at the curb.  Curbside collectors must transfer used oil to a certified recycling facility by a registered used oil hauler.

Additionally registered curbside collection programs receive “Indemnification” for contaminated oil.  In the rare event they receive contaminated oil, the registered curbside collection operator can be reimbursed up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) once a year by the Board for the additional disposal costs.



	Process for becoming a registered curbside collection program
	To become a registered curbside collection program a jurisdiction must collect used lubricating oil from the public at the curbside.  The steps are:

1. An application (CIWMB Form 30) is submitted to the Certification/Registration Unit, and Board staff determines eligibility.  The application is available on the Used Oil website at http://www.ciwmb.ca.gov/HHW/Forms/.

2. If eligible, the Certification/Registration Unit registers the program and notifies the operator via letter.

3. Upon registration, the registered curbside collection program operator is eligible to receive the reimbursement (the oil recycling incentive).

	Process for reimbursing curbside collection programs
	Once eligible, a claim for reimbursement is submitted to the Accounting Claims Unit at the Board.  To receive the payment of the recycling incentive ALL claims must be submitted to the Board no later than forty-five (45) days following the end of the quarter within which the used lubricating oil is hauled to a certified recycling facility.  Please refer to the following schedule for dates.  (This information also appears on the claim form, item #5.)



	
	If your used oil was hauled between:
	Claims are due by:

	
	January 1 – March 31
	May 15

	
	April 1 – June 30
	August 14

	
	July 1 – September 30
	November 14

	
	October 1 – December 31
	February 14

	Utilizing Block Grant funds
	Block Grant funds can assist curbside collection programs.  Please see Chapter 5 on Eligible and Ineligible Expenditures.


Registered Industrial Generators

	Definition of registered curbside collection programs
	The Board registers industrial generators that are eligible to receive the sixteen cents ($0.16) per gallon oil recycling incentive.  Any entity that purchases and uses lubricating oil for equipment owned or used by that entity may be a registered industrial generator.  The possibilities include local governments, schools, and business.  An industrial generator’s day-to-day business operations must include:

1. Utilizing automobiles, buses, trucks, planes, trains, heavy equipment, or other machinery powered by an internal combustion engine;

2. Changing the lubricating oil in these vehicles or heavy equipment; and

3. Transferring used oil to a certified recycling facility by a registered used oil hauler.



	Process for becoming a registered industrial generator
	If the business meets the day-to-day operations listed above, the steps are:

1. An application is submitted to the Certification/Registration Unit, and Board staff determines eligibility.  The application (CIWMB Form 30) is available on the Used Oil website at http://www.ca.gov/HHW/Forms/

2. If eligible, the Certification/Registration Unit registers the site and notifies the operator via a letter.

3. Upon registration, the registered industrial generator operator or designee is eligible to receive the reimbursement (the oil recycling incentive).



	Process for reimbursing curbside collection programs
	Once registered, a claim for reimbursement is submitted to the Accounting Claims Unit at the Board.  To receive the payment of the recycling incentive, claims should be submitted to the Board according to the following schedule.  (This information also appears on the claim form, item #5.)

	
	If your used oil was hauled between:
	Claims are due by:

	
	January 1 – March 31
	May 15

	
	April 1 – June 30
	August 14

	
	July 1 – September 30
	November 14

	
	October 1 – December 31
	February 14


 Used Oil Certification-Registration County Assignments

	Alan White 
	(916) 341-6463

awhite@ciwmb.ca.gov
	Jack Harrah* (large Corporations)
	(916) 341-6445 

Jharrah@ciwmb.ca.gov

	Harley Thompson** (Southern CA) 
	(714) 449-7071 hthompso@ciwmb.ca.gov
	Judy Sheffield Claim/Reporting Incentive Questions
	(916) 341-6176

jsheffie@ciwmb.ca.gov

	
	
	
	


	01-Alameda
	Alan White
	
	30-Orange
	Jack Harrah

	02-Alpine
	Jack Harrah
	
	31-Placer
	Jack Harrah

	03-Amador
	Jack Harrah
	
	32-Plumas
	Jack Harrah

	04-Butte
	Jack Harrah
	
	33-Riverside
	Jack Harrah

	05-Calaveras
	Jack Harrah
	
	34-Sacramento
	Jack Harrah

	06-Colusa
	Jack Harrah
	
	35-San Benito
	Jack Harrah

	07-Contra Costa
	Jack Harrah
	
	36-San Bernardino
	Jack Harrah

	08-Del Norte
	Jack Harrah
	
	37-San Diego
	Alan White

	09-El Dorado
	Jack Harrah
	
	38-San Francisco
	Alan White

	10-Fresno
	Alan White
	
	39-San Joaquin
	Jack Harrah

	11-Glenn
	Jack Harrah
	
	40-San Luis Obispo
	Alan White

	12-Humboldt
	Jack Harrah
	
	41-San Mateo
	Alan White

	13-Imperial
	Alan White
	
	42-Santa Barbara
	Jack Harrah

	14-Inyo
	Alan White
	
	43-Santa Clara
	Alan White

	15-Kern
	Alan White
	
	44-Santa Cruz
	Jack Harrah

	16-Kings
	Alan White
	
	45-Shasta
	Jack Harrah

	17-Lake
	Jack Harrah
	
	46-Sierra
	Jack Harrah

	18-Lassen
	Jack Harrah
	
	47-Siskiyou
	Jack Harrah

	19-Los Angeles 
	Jack Harrah
	
	48-Solano
	Jack Harrah

	20-Madera
	Jack Harrah
	
	49-Sonoma
	Jack Harrah

	21-Marin
	Jack Harrah
	
	50-Stanislaus
	Jack Harrah

	22-Mariposa
	Jack Harrah
	
	51-Sutter
	Jack Harrah

	23-Mendocino
	Jack Harrah
	
	52-Tehama
	Jack Harrah

	24-Merced
	Jack Harrah
	
	53-Trinity
	Jack Harrah

	25-Modoc
	Jack Harrah
	
	54-Tulare
	Alan White

	26-Mono
	Jack Harrah
	
	55-Tuolumne
	Jack Harrah

	27-Monterey
	Jack Harrah
	
	56-Ventura
	Jack Harrah

	28-Napa
	Jack Harrah
	
	57-Yolo
	Jack Harrah

	29-Nevada
	Jack Harrah
	
	58-Yuba
	Jack Harrah

	* Jack Harrah assists the following certified collection centers that are operated by large corporations:

AutoZone, Big O Tires, Bridgestone/Firestone, EZ Lube, Inc., Grease Monkey, Kragen (CSK Auto)

Oil Changer, Inc., Pep Boys, Pick-n-Pull Auto Dismantlers, Quality Tune-Up, Scher Tire Inc dba Goodyear, and Valvoline Instant Oil Change.



	** The Board’s Southern California Certification Representative, Harley Thompson, is available to help resolve any problems and/or assist local jurisdictions in conducting Site Visits. 
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