News and Events
- NEW!! In October of 2014 Governor Brown signed AB 1826 Chesbro (Chapter 727, Statutes of 2014), requiring businesses, including State Agencies, to recycle their organic waste on and after April 1, 2016, depending on the amount of organic waste they generate per week. This law also requires that on and after January 1, 2016, local jurisdictions across the state implement an organic waste recycling program to divert organic waste generated by businesses, including State Agencies that meet the progressive thresholds. Learn more about AB 1826 and Mandatory Commercial Organics Recycling. Review the letter sent to all state agencies in August 2015.
- Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill (AB) 2490 [FC1] into law on Sept. 15, 2014. As of January 1, 2015 pursuant to AB 2490 (Eggman, Chapter 342, Statutes of 2014) Sections 10 and 15, California district agricultural associations (DAA) are excluded from the definition of “state agency” for purposes of those provisions (Food and Agricultural Code Section 4061(a) and PRC Section 42926 (d)). As such, DAAs are no longer required to submit an annual state agency waste management report to CalRecycle’s State Agency Reporting Center (SARC) by May 1 or a State Agency Buy Recycled Campaign report (SABRC) by March 1 of each year for “Calendar Year” reporters or October 31 for “Fiscal Year” reporters.
- While AB 2490 exempts DAAs from reporting requirements, DAAs are still required to maintain and monitor its waste diversion programs to ensure adherence to the diversion requirements for State entities under AB 75 (Strom-Martin, Chapter 764, Statutes of 1999), AB 341 (Chesbro, Chapter 476, Statutes of 2011), SB 1016 (Wiggins, Chapter 343, Statutes of 2008), PCC 12153-12217, and PRC 42920-42926. See State Agency Laws and Regulations at for more information on diversion and recycled content purchasing requirements.
- Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill (AB) 341 into law on Oct. 5, 2011. The bill declares that the goal for the state of California is that not less than 75 percent of solid waste generated be source reduced, recycled, or composted by the year 2020. The bill also changes the due date of the State Agency Waste Management Annual Report from September 1 to May 1, beginning May 1, 2012.
Report Due Dates
Agency Waste Management Annual
The Waste Management Annual Report is due by May 1 each year. The report is to include disposal tonnage and diversion activities from the previous calendar year.
The Per Capita Disposal Measurement System Act (SB 1016, Wiggins, Public Resources Code Section 42920-42927, Statutes of 2008) changed the way state agencies and local governments measure their progress toward meeting the statutory waste diversion mandates. State agencies and large state facilities now use per capita disposal as an indicator of their compliance with the 50 percent waste diversion requirement. Compliance is also determined by diversion program implementation. For more information, see Understanding SB 1016 Solid Waste Disposal Measurement Act of 2008 For State Agencies (PowerPoint, 790 KB)
Agency Buy Recycled Campaign (SABRC) Annual Report
The Fiscal Year SABRC Annual Report is due by Oct. 31 each year. (Exception: The SABRC Annual Report for Fairs and Expositions is due by March 1 for the previous calendar year.)