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INTRODUCTION

These guidelines describe the methods the California Department of 
Conservation (Department) will use to make handling fee payments 
(HFs) to qualified recyclers. These guidelines also provide information 
and procedures that recyclers should understand and follow in order 
to apply for and receive HFs. The Department has adopted these 
guidelines pursuant to Public Resources Code (PRC) Section 14585 as 
amended by Chapter 907, Statutes of 2006, effective September 30, 
2006. PRC Codes in this text are mentioned in Appendix A. 

While the Department has made every attempt to ensure accuracy 
and completeness, these guidelines are advisory only and do 
not replace or supersede either the Public Resources Code or the 
Department’s California Code of Regulations (CCR). Questions relating 
to handling fees ultimately will be resolved using the provisions of 
statute and regulation and not by reference to these guidelines. 

DEFINITION AND PURPOSE OF HANDLING FEES

WHAT ARE 
HANDLING FEES?

WHAT IS THE 
PURPOSE OF 

HANDLING FEES?

Handling fees are monthly payments made by the Department 
to recycling centers that meet certain eligibility requirements. A 
recycler can receive a monthly HF payment of 0.98 cents ($0.0098) 
for each eligible container redeemed at an eligible center.

The Department makes HF payments to recyclers in order to provide 
incentives for the convenient redemption of empty beverage 
containers. These payments encourage increased redemptions and 
reward operational efficiency at supermarket site recycling centers, 
nonprofit convenience zone recycling centers and rural region 
recycling centers operating within convenience zones (CZ).

 The HF is based solely on actual numbers of containers redeemed as 
reported on a calendar monthly basis. 

 A monthly report of redemption weights will serve as a monthly HF 
application. (See Section: “Applying for Handling Fees”.) 
There is no cap on the monthly handling fee payment amount.
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ELIGIBILITY

WHAT RECYCLING 
CENTER CATEGORIES 

ARE ELIGIBLE FOR 
HFS?.

To be eligible for HFs, a recycler must be one of the following types of 
recycling centers:
 
• Supermarket Site Recycling Center 
 To be qualified as a “supermarket site”, your recycling center 

must be located within, or outside and immediately adjacent 
to the entrance of, or at, or within a parking lot or loading 
area surrounding, a supermarket which is the focal point of a 
convenience zone, or a dealer that is located within that zone, and 
which is accessible to motor traffic. 

• Nonprofit Convenience Zone Recycling Center 
 To be qualified as a nonprofit convenience zone recycling center, 

the operator of the site must be a nonprofit organization as 
established under Section 501(c) or 501(d) of Title 26 of the United 
States Code and has recycling centers which are certified and 
located somewhere within a convenience zone. The location of the 
recycling center need not be at a supermarket site.

 
• Rural Region Recycling Center 
 To be qualified as a rural region recycling center, the recycling 

center must be located in a rural region as defined by the 
Farmer’s Home Loan Administration criteria pursuant to 14571 
(b)(2)(A) and the recycling center is located somewhere within 
a convenience zone. The location of the recycling center need 
not be at a supermarket site. Please refer to the “Rural Region 
Recycler Information” segment within this section for more options 
pertaining to HFs. 

The Department will inspect each of the above recycling centers 
to determine whether such sites meet their respective proximity 
requirements within a convenience zone. 

WHAT CRITERIA 
MUST ALL ELIGIBLE 

RECYCLING CENTERS 
MEET?

The Department determines each month the handling fee eligibility 
for every recycling location. To be eligible for a HF, a recycling center 
must be all of the following on the first day of the calendar month for 
which HFs are claimed:
 
• Certified and Operational Requirements 
 As a certified recycling center, you are obligated to be certified and 

operational as of the first day of the reporting month in accordance 
with Division 12.1 of the California PRC and Title 14 of the CCRs. 
Repeated violations of these laws or regulations can result in 
decertification of your facility and the loss of your HF award. The 
Department closely monitors each facility for violations. (See PRC 
Section 14585(a).) 

• The Sole Recycler in the Zone 
 The only certified, non-grandfathered recycling center in a 

convenience zone. (See PRC Section 14585(c)(1).) 
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A RECYCLING CENTER 
MUST NOT BE ANY 

OF THE FOLLOWING: 

• Second-In-A-Zone 
 An entity that causes another recycler in the same zone to no 

longer be eligible to receive HFs. Entities that locate in a particular 
zone thereby causing another recycler to become ineligible to 
receive handling fees, will never be eligible for handling fees in 
that zone. This prohibition will apply even if the original recycler 
decertifies. It also applies to grandfathered facilities which elect to 
begin accepting all material types. (See PRC Section 14585(c)(1).) 

• Grandfathered 
 A “grandfathered” facility, accepting fewer than all material types. 

(See PRC Section 14572(b).) 

RURAL REGION 
RECYCLER 

INFORMATION

Rural Sites 
In common with supermarket site recycling centers and nonprofit 
convenience zone recycling centers, a rural region recycling center 
can apply for a single handling fee payment for each recycling center 
within a convenience zone. Each Handling Fee Application (DR-14) 
would be calculated to determine the handling fee payment. The 
handling fee payment would reflect the containers redeemed at one 
and only one recycling location. (See PRC Section 14585(c)(2) and PRC 
Section 14525.5.1.) 

To qualify for this handling fee option a recycling center location 
must: 

• Operate a minimum of 30 hours per week, and 
• Meet the requirements under the ELIGIBILITY Section. 

WHAT MIGHT MAKE 
ALL RECYCLING 

CENTERS INELIGIBLE 
FOR HANDLING 

FEES?

Despite being eligible for HFs in previous months, your site could 
become ineligible in subsequent months based on a variety of 
situations. For example:
 
• Second Recycler Certifies 
 Another recycling center certifies and begins operating within the 

convenience zone in which you are otherwise eligible to receive 
HFs.  Your site’s HF eligibility will end sixty (60) days from the 
operational date of the second recycling center.

 
• Deletion of a Zone 
 The convenience zone served by your facility is deleted due to the 

permanent closure of the supermarket. In this situation, your site 
will become ineligible for HFs at the end of the month in which the 
supermarket closes. 

• Non-Operation or Decertification 
 Your center ceases to operate or decertifies.  You will not receive 

HFs for any period during which your site was not certified and 
operational as of the first day of the reporting month. 
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APPLYING FOR HANDLING FEES

HOW DO YOU 
APPLY?

Recycling Center operators must submit a Handling Fee Application 
(DR-14) each month to:
 

IKON Business Information Service 
P.O. Box 277850
Attention: PRPS UNIT DR-14
Sacramento, CA 95827

A copy of the DR-14 to be used is located in Appendix C. The 
“reporting month” is the calendar month for which a HF is being 
claimed. On this application you must accurately report your 
receipts-and-logs redemption weights, in tenths of pounds, for 
all material types redeemed from consumers during the reporting 
month. The information submitted on these applications must 
correspond to your daily receipts and logs. 

Each application must be for only one calendar month and one 
eligible recycling site (See Eligibility Section). Your application must 
be submitted monthly and must be postmarked no later than 
the first day of the second month following the reporting 
month, for example, for the reporting month of January 
2007, the handling fee application (DR-14) is due to be 
postmarked no later than March 1, 2007. Your application 
will be rejected if it is (1) postmarked after this date, or (2) 
incorrectly completed. If your application is rejected, you 
will not receive payment for that reporting month and your 
HF payment will be forfeited. This forfeiture will not affect your 
HF eligibility for any future month. As an applicant, you bear sole 
responsibility for meeting the reporting deadline.
 
These reporting requirements, along with line-by-line instructions 
on completing the DR-14, can be found in the Participant Manual for 
recyclers, which is available from:
 

IKON Business Information Service 
3062 Prospect Park Drive, Suite A 
Attn.: PRPS Unit-Order Department
Sacramento, CA 95670 

(916) 852-1010 

WHAT 
CONSIDERATIONS 

PERTAIN TO YOUR 
APPLICATION?

Several considerations pertain to your HF application. Keep these 
issues in mind as you complete your application. 

First, the Handling Fee Application covers one calendar month only. 
To continue receiving HFs, you must reapply for each subsequent 
month.
 
Second, by signing and submitting the DR-14, you are certifying 
that the reported redemption weights were redeemed: (1) only by the 
recycling center at the site reported on the application, (2) only from 
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consumers, (3) only during the reporting month and (4) only during 
periods when the recycling center was open for business.
 
Third, by signing the DR-14 you are certifying that you understand 
that the form is only an application for HF and that the final 
determination of eligibility for, and amount of, HF payments will be 
made by the Department.
 
Fourth, civil penalties of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) per day 
may be assessed for violation of the laws and regulations governing 
the DR-14. Submission of false information on a HF application with 
intent to defraud is a crime punishable by substantial fines, up to 
three years of imprisonment, or both. 
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CALCULATIONS & PAYMENTS

HOW WILL THE 
DEPARTMENT 

CALCULATE YOUR 
HANDLING FEE?

After determining that a site meets the eligibility criteria as described 
in the Eligibility Section, the Department will then calculate your 
handling fee.

STEP ONE 

WEIGHT-TO-
CONTAINER 

CONVERSION

STEP TWO

The Department first converts the reported redemption weights to 
containers using, for each material type, the Department’s statewide-
average container-per-pound rates. 

The site reports redemption weights for January 2000 that the 
Department has converted to the following container counts: 

 Aluminum  = 125,000
 Plus Glass  = 31,000
 Plus PET  = 20,000
 Plus Bimetal  = 0

 Equals  176,000 Total Containers

ELIGIBLE CONTAINER 
DETERMINATION

The Department then determines the Site’s number of eligible 
containers by taking the lesser of the Site’s total containers or 
the Site’s total glass and PET containers divided by the eligibility 
percentage, which is fixed at 10 percent, effective January 1, 2000. 

  Aluminum
 Plus Glass  
 Plus PET 
 Plus Bimetal 

  Equals Eligible Containers 

OR 

  Glass 
 Plus PET 
 
 Equals Total Glass and PET 
 
 
 Total Glass and PET  Divided by 
 Eligibility Percentage 
 
 Equals Eligible Containers  
 whichever is less. 
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What is the Site’s eligible monthly volume? 

  (Containers) 

  125,000 
 Plus 31,000 
 Plus  20,000 
 Plus 0 

 Equals 176,000 

OR 

  31,000 
 Plus 20,000 

 Equals 51,000 

  51,000 
 Divided by  .10 

 Equals 510,000  
 whichever is less. 

The Site’s eligible volume is 176,000 containers. 

STEP THREE

HANDLING FEE 
CALCULATION

The Department then calculates the Site’s handling fee as $0.0098 
times the eligible number of containers. 

  Eligible Containers 
 Multiplied by $0.0098 

 Equals Handling Fees. 

  176,000 
 Multiplied by $0.0098
 
 Equals $1,724.80.

HOW ARE SITES 
RANKED?

In the situation described above, sites will be ranked in descending 
order of their eligible number of containers. Sites with higher 
numbers of eligible containers will receive their full HFs before sites 
with lower numbers of containers receive any HFs. This ranking acts 
as an additional incentive for you to increase your redemptions.  
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HOW WILL 
YOUR HANDLING 

FEE CLAIMS BE 
PROCESSED?

The Department will process handling fee payments as follows: 

• Eligibility Determination 
 The Department’s Industry Services Branch produces a monthly 

listing of all sites that meet the eligibility requirements shown in 
the “Eligibility Section” and submits this list to IKON. 

• Application Processing 
 IKON receives applications (DR-14s) from recyclers, checks each for 

completeness and accuracy, determines whether the applicant is on 
the Department’s eligibility list, calculates the handling fees and 
submits a report to the Department for review. 

• Final Review 
 The Department reviews the report, makes a final determination 

that funds are available, and, as appropriate, authorizes payment. 

• Award Notices and Claims Schedules 
 IKON mails a notice to each recycler listing the status of each 

handling fee application. The Department authorizes a claims 
schedule which is submitted to the State Controller’s Office. 

• Checks 
 The State Controller’s Office produces checks based on the claims 

schedule and sends those checks to the mailing address shown on 
the HF application. 

RECORD KEEPING

WHAT RECORDS DO 
YOU NEED TO KEEP? 

As an operator of a site receiving handling fees, you must maintain 
certain records for each location where beverage containers are 
redeemed. You also must be prepared to take any other action 
necessary for the Department to determine that your site does not 
receive an excessive or incorrect handling fee. 
Specifically, the Department requires that you keep the following 
records for every recycling site: 

• The Site’s daily transaction receipts and logs 
• The Site’s daily summaries 
• The participant’s copy of any submitted Handling Fee Applications. 

These record-keeping requirements are in addition to, and do not 
supersede, any other requirements imposed by statute or regulation. 
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APPEALS

HOW DO YOU 
APPEAL A HANDLING 

FEE DENIAL?

If you believe that the Department incorrectly determined or denied 
your HF claim, you may appeal the Department’s decision. Prior to 
filing a formal appeal, however, you should first contact IKON at 
(916) 852-1010. IKON’s analysts will attempt to answer your questions 
and may refer your call to Department staff for further research and 
review. If this process does not resolve the issue to your satisfaction 
and if you still believe that the Department’s determination or denial 
is in error, you may file a formal appeal in the manner outlined 
below. 

Regardless of whether or not you contact IKON by telephone, if you 
choose to appeal a HF denial, your appeal must be submitted in 
writing within 30 calendar days of the payment date or of the date of 
the applicable Notice of Denial. Appeals submitted after this 30-day 
period may be rejected by the Department. 

To ensure a timely review, your written appeal must include all of the 
following: 

 A list of the certification number(s) and facility address(es) involved 
 The month(s) and year(s) in question 
 For appeals of denials, the canceled, original DR-14(s) and Notice(s) 
of Denial 

• For appeals of payment determinations, a copy of the Remittance 
Advice(s) 

• A short explanation of why you believe each denial or 
determination is in error 

• Any other documentation that supports your appeal 

You should submit your appeal to: 

State of California 
Department of Conservation 
Division of Recycling 
ATTN: Handling Fees MS 15-29 
801 K Street 
Sacramento, CA 95814-3533 

(916) 322-4867 or
1-800-RECYCLE (in CA only)

The Department will respond to your appeal in writing within fifteen 
(15) working days of the receipt of your letter. 
This departmental appeal process may not exhaust your 
administrative and legal options. If you are not satisfied with the 
Department’s decision, you should seek legal advice on your available 
remedies. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

IMPORTANT PHONE 
NUMBERS AND 

ADDRESSES

If you have questions regarding the overall administration of the 
handling fee program, or questions regarding the HF eligibility of 
a particular recycling location, please contact the Department’s 
Industry Services Branch at (916) 322-4867.
 
If you need additional DR-14s, please contact IKON at  
(916) 852-1010. 

WHERE YOU CAN 
REACH US

For General Questions: 

 State of California 
 Department of Conservation 
 Division of Recycling 
 ATTN: Handling Fees MS 15-29 
 801 K Street 
 Sacramento, CA 95814-3533 

 (916) 322-4867 or 
 1-800-RECYCLE (in CA only)

To Submit Handling Fee Applications (DR-14s): 

 IKON Business Information Service 
 P.O. Box 277850
 Attention: PRPS UNIT DR-14
 Sacramento, CA 95827

To Order Application Form or Inquire About Application 
Status: 

 IKON Business Information Service 
 3062 Prospect Park Drive, Suite A 
 Attn.: PRPS Unit-Order Department 
 Sacramento, CA 95670 

 (916) 852-1010
 FAX (916) 638-0909
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APPENDIX A: EXCERPTS FROM THE CALIFORNIA 
BEVERAGE CONTAINER RECYCLING & LITTER  
REDUCTION ACT & RELATED CODE SECTIONS

The following excerpted sections of the California Beverage Container 
Recycling and Litter Reduction Act (the Act), Public Resources 
Code Division 12.1 as effective January 1, 2004, are provided here to 
assist you in completing the Handling Fee Application. A complete 
copy of the Act may be obtained by contacting the Department of 
Conservation at 1-800-RECYCLE (in CA only). (All section numbers 
refer to the Public Resources Code.)

DEFINITIONS 14509.4. “Convenience.zone” means all of the following: 

 (a) The area within a one-half mile radius of a supermarket.   
 (b) The area designated by the department pursuant to Section   
  14571.5.

14571.5. Convenience.Zones.In.Rural.Regions:  The department may, 
in a rural region, as identified pursuant to subparagraph (A) of 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 14571, upon petition by an 
interested person, do either of the following:

   (a) (1) Increase a convenience zone to include the area within   
  a three-mile radius of a supermarket, if the expanded    
  convenience zone would then be served by a single existing   
  certified recycling center or location.

     (2) This subdivision applies only to a convenience zone that   
  is otherwise not being served by a certified recycling center   
  or location meeting the requirements of Section 14571 or is   
  exempted by the department pursuant to Section 14571.8.

   (b) (1) Designate a convenience zone pursuant to Section 14571.1   
  in an area where there is no supermarket, but with two or   
  more dealers located within a one-mile radius of each other,   
  and that meets all of the following criteria:

   (A) The dealers in that area have combined gross annual sales   
  of two million dollars ($2,000,000) or more, as certified by the  
  petitioner in an affidavit filed with the petition.

   (B) The convenience zone encompasses a three-mile radius, with   
  the center of the zone established at the dealer, located closest  
  to the existing recycling center specified in subparagraph (D).

   (C) The convenience zone does not overlap any other existing   
  convenience zone.

   (D) The convenience zone is served by a single existing certified   
  recycling center.
     
 (2) The department shall identify the dealer locations only for   
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  the purpose of providing a reference point in the establishment  
  of the convenience zone pursuant to this subdivision.

    (3) If the existing recycling location in a convenience zone   
  designated pursuant to this subdivision ceases operations,   
  the convenience zone shall also cease to exist until a new   
  recycling location is established, and the department is   
  petitioned by an interested person to designate a convenience  
  zone.

14510. “Dealer” means a retail establishment which offers the sale 
of beverages in beverage containers to consumers. However, any 
lodging, eating, or drinking establishment, or soft drink vending 
machine operator who engages in the sale of beverages in beverage 
containers to consumers shall not be deemed a dealer for the 
purposes of this division, except that these sales are subject to Section 
14560. To determine which retail establishments are dealers, the 
Department shall use annual or more frequent updates provided 
by American Business Information, Inc., as long as the information 
provided by American Business Information, Inc., is updated at least 
annually. 

14513.4. “Handling fees” means an amount paid to an operator of 
a supermarket site, a rural region recycler, as defined in Section 
14525.5.1, or a nonprofit convenience zone recycler, as defined in 
Section 14514.7, that is located in a convenience zone for every 
beverage container redeemed by the operator at the supermarket or 
within the zone in which the supermarket site is located, by the rural 
region recycler, or by the nonprofit convenience zone recycler. 

14514.7. “Nonprofit convenience zone recycler” means a recycling 
center that meets all of the following criteria: (a) The recycling center 
is operated by an organization established under Section 501(c) or 
501(d) of Title 26 of the United States Code. (b) The recycling center 
is certified by the Department pursuant to Section 14538. (c) The 
recycling center is located within a convenience zone, but is not 
necessarily a supermarket site. 

14522.5. “Redemption” and “redeem” mean the return to a recycling 
center or location of an empty beverage container for a refund of at 
least the refund value. 

14525.5.1. “Rural region recycler” means an operator that is certified 
pursuant to subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of 
Section 14571, and who accepts or collects empty beverage containers 
from consumers pursuant to Section 14572 with the intention to 
recycle them. 

14526.6. “Supermarket site” means any certified recycling center 
which redeems all types of empty beverage containers in accordance 
with Section 14572, and which is located within, or outside and 
immediately adjacent to the entrance of, or at, or within a parking lot 
or loading area surrounding, a supermarket which is the focal point 
of a convenience zone, or a dealer that is located within that zone, 
and which is accessible to motor traffic. 
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RELATED CODE 
SECTIONS

14538. ... (c) The Department may recover, in restitution pursuant 
to paragraph (5) of subdivision (c) of Section 14591.2, payments made 
from the fund to the certified recycling center pursuant to Section 
14573.5 that are based on the documents specified in paragraph (7) 
and that are not prepared or maintained in compliance with the 
Department’s regulations and that do not allow the Department to 
verify claims for program payments. 

14571(b)(2)(A). ... The recycling center is in a rural region. For 
purposes of this subparagraph, “rural region” means a nonurban 
area identified by the Department on an annual basis using Farmers 
Home Loan Administration criteria. Those criteria include, but 
are not limited to places, open country, cities, towns, or census 
designated places with populations that are less than 10,000 persons. 
The Department may designate an area with a population of between 
10,000 and 50,000 persons as a rural region, unless the area is 
identified as part of, or associated with, an urban area, as determined 
by the Department on an individual basis. 

HANDLING FEES 14585.  (a) The department shall adopt guidelines and methods for
paying handling fees to supermarket sites, nonprofit convenience 
zone recyclers, or rural region recyclers to provide an incentive for 
the redemption of empty beverage containers in convenience zones. 
The guidelines shall include, but not be limited to, all of the
following:

 (1) Handling fees shall be paid on a monthly basis, in the form
  and manner adopted by the department. The department shall  
  require that claims for the handling fee be filed with the   
  department not later than the first day of the second month   
  following the month for which the handling fee is claimed as a  
  condition of receiving any handling fee.

   (2) (A) To be eligible for any handling fee, a supermarket site
  recycling center, nonprofit convenience zone recycler, or rural
  region recycler shall redeem not less than 60,000 beverage
  containers, during the calendar month in which the handling  
  fee is claimed or have redeemed not less than an average of   
  60,000 beverage containers per month during the previous 12  
  months.

     (B) Subparagraph (A) shall not apply on and after July 1, 2008.

   (3) (A) A beverage container with a capacity of 24 fluid ounces or
  more shall be considered as two beverage containers for   
  purposes of determining the eligibility percentage, any   
  handling fee calculations, and payments.

     (B) Subparagraph (A) shall not apply on and after July 1, 2008.

 (4) The department shall determine the number of eligible
  containers per site for which a handling fee will be paid in the
  following manner:

  (A) Each eligible site’s combined monthly volume of glass and
  plastic beverage containers shall be divided by the site’s total
  monthly volume of all empty beverage container types.
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  (B) If the quotient determined pursuant to subparagraph (A) is
  equal to, or more than, 10 percent, the total monthly volume of  
  the site shall be the maximum volume which is eligible for a   
  handling fee for that month.

  (C) If the quotient determined pursuant to subparagraph (A) is
  less than 10 percent, the department shall divide the volume   
  of glass and plastic beverage containers by 10 percent. That   
  quotient shall be the maximum volume that is eligible for a   
  handling fee for that month.

 (5) (A) From the effective date of the statute enacted by Assembly
  Bill 3056 of the 2005-06 Regular Session to June 30, 2008,
  inclusive, the department shall pay a handling fee of 1.8 cents
  ($0.018) per eligible beverage container, as determined   
  pursuant to paragraph (4).

  (B) On and after July 1, 2008, the department shall pay a   
  handling fee per eligible container in the amount determined  
  pursuant to subdivision (f)
.
   (6) (A) Notwithstanding paragraph (5), the total handling fee
  payment to a supermarket site, nonprofit convenience zone   
  recycler, or rural region recycler shall not exceed two thousand  
  three hundred dollars ($2,300) per month.

     (B) Subparagraph (A) shall not apply on and after July 1, 2008.

   (7) If the eligible volume in any given month would result in
  handling fee payments that exceed the allocation of funds for  
  that month, as provided in subdivision (b), sites with higher   
  eligible monthly volumes shall receive handling fees for their  
  entire eligible monthly volume before sites with lower eligible  
  monthly volumes receive any handling fees.
   (8) (A) If a dealer where a supermarket site, nonprofit
  convenience zone recycler, or rural region recycler is located   
  ceases operation for remodeling or for a change of ownership,  
  the operator of that supermarket site nonprofit convenience   
  zone recycler, or rural region recycler shall be eligible to apply  
  for handling fees for that site for a period of three months   
  following the date of the closure of the dealer.

     (B) Every supermarket site operator, nonprofit convenience   
  zone recycler, or rural region recycler shall promptly notify the
  department of the closure of the dealer where the supermarket  
  site, nonprofit convenience zone recycler, or rural region   
  recycler is located.

     (C) Notwithstanding subparagraph (A), any operator who   
  fails to provide notification to the department pursuant to   
  subparagraph (B) shall not be eligible to apply for handling   
  fees.

  (b) The department may allocate the amount authorized for
  expenditure for the payment of handling fees pursuant to   
  paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 14581 on a monthly  
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  basis and may carry over any unexpended monthly allocation  
  to a subsequent month or months. However, unexpended   
  monthly allocations shall not be carried over to a subsequent   
  fiscal year for the purpose of paying handling fees but may be  
  carried over for any other purpose pursuant to Section 14581.

  (c) (1) The department shall not make handling fee payments to
  more than one certified recycling center in a convenience   
  zone. If a dealer is located in more than one convenience zone,  
  the department shall offer a single handling fee payment to  
  a supermarket site located at that dealer. This handling   
  fee payment shall not be split between the affected zones.   
  The department shall stop making handling fee payments   
  if another recycling center certifies to operate within the   
  convenience zone without receiving payments pursuant to this
  section, if the department monitors the performance of the   
  other recycling center for 60 days and determines that the   
  recycling center is in compliance with this division. Any   
  recycling center that locates in a convenience zone, thereby   
  causing a preexisting recycling center to become ineligible to  
  receive handling fee payments, is ineligible to receive any   
  handling fee payments in that convenience zone.

   (2) The department shall offer a single handling fee payment to a
  rural region recycler located anywhere inside a convenience   
  zone, if that convenience zone is not served by another certified  
  recycling center and the rural region recycler does either of the  
  following:

  (A) Operates a minimum of 30 hours per week in one    
  convenience zone.

  (B) Serves two or more convenience zones, and meets all of the
  following criteria:

     (i) Is the only certified recycler within each convenience zone.

     (ii) Is open and operating at least eight hours per week in each
  convenience zone and is certified at each location.

     (iii) Operates at least 30 hours per week in total for all
  convenience zones served.

     (d) The department may require the operator of a supermarket  
  site or rural region recycler receiving handling fees to    
  maintain records for each location where beverage containers  
  are redeemed, and may require the supermarket site or rural   
  region recycler to take any other action necessary for the   
  department to determine that the supermarket site or rural   
  region recycler does not receive an excessive handling fee.

  (e) The department may determine and utilize a standard   
  container per pound rate, for each material type, for the   
  purpose of calculating volumes and making handling fee   
  payments.
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   (f) (1) On or before January 1, 2008, and every two years
  thereafter, the department shall conduct a survey pursuant to  
  this subdivision of a statistically significant sample of certified
  recycling centers that receive handling fee payments to   
  determine the actual cost incurred for the redemption of empty  
  beverage containers by those certified recycling centers. The   
  department shall conduct these cost surveys in conjunction   
  with the cost surveys performed by the department pursuant to  
  subdivision (b) of Section 14575 to determine processing   
  payments and processing fees. The department shall include, in  
  determining the actual costs, only those allowable costs   
  contained in the regulations adopted pursuant to this division 
  that are used by the department to conduct cost surveys   
  pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 14575.

 (2) Using the information obtained pursuant to paragraph (1), the
  department shall then determine the statewide weighted   
  average cost incurred for the redemption of empty beverage   
  containers, per empty beverage container, at recycling centers  
  that receive handling fees.

 (3) On and after July 1, 2008, the department shall determine the
  amount of the handling fee to be paid for each empty beverage
  container by subtracting the amount of the statewide weighted  
  average cost per container to redeem empty beverage    
  containers by recycling centers that do not receive handling   
  fees from the amount of the statewide weighted average cost   
  per container determined pursuant to paragraph (2).
 (4) The department shall adjust the statewide average cost
  determined pursuant to paragraph (2) for each beverage   
  container annually to reflect changes in the cost of living, as   
  measured by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States  
  Department of Labor or a successor agency of the United States  
  government.

 (5) The cost information collected pursuant to this section at
  recycling centers that receive handling fees shall not be used in  
  the calculation of the processing payments determined   
  pursuant to Section 14575.

14585.5.  (a) The department shall not make handling fee payments 
to a supermarket site if the department determines that all empty
beverage container types are not redeemed at the same physical
location within the recycling location 

 (b) A supermarket site that redeems all empty beverage container
  types at the same physical location within the recycling   
  location, and issues script to consumers which is required to be  
  redeemed at a nearby host business, is eligible to receive   
  handling fee payments.
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APPENDIX B: GLOSSARY

The definitions provided below are intended to assist you in 
understanding the information presented in these guidelines. Like 
the guidelines themselves, however, these definitions are only 
advisory and do not replace or supersede the definitions contained 
in either the Public Resources Code or the Department’s regulations. 
Questions about the meaning of any term related to handling fees 
will be resolved using the provisions of statute and regulation and 
not by reference to these guidelines. 

Appeal 
A recycler’s request for resolution of a HF payment problem. 

Application 
The Handling Fee Application, Form DR-14 

Award Notice 
A report which shows the status of HF determinations for a particular 
month for a particular recycling firm. 

Certified 
An operator of a recycling center that has met the requirements for 
certification, pursuant to PRC Section 14538. 

Claims Schedules 
Direction for the Controller on how to issue checks. Includes the 
name of the payee and the dollar amount and is accompanied by a 
Remittance Advice. 

Convenience Zone 
A zone designated by the Department, defined as an area within 
a one-half mile radius of a supermarket with annual gross sales 
exceeding $2 million.  For more information, check our web site at 
http://www.consrv.ca.gov/DOR/dmr/retailers/cz.htm

Department 
Department of Conservation 

Division 
Division of Recycling 

DISC 
Please see IKON. 

DR-14 
Handling Fee Application 

Eligibility 
Eligibility refers to a recycler’s qualifications for HFs. 

Eligible Center 
A recycling center which meets the site requirements for HFs. 
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Eligible Containers 
The lesser of the site’s total containers or the site’s glass and plastic 
containers divided by the eligibility percentage which is fixed at 10 
percent effective January 1, 2000. 

Eligibility Percentage 
The eligibility percentage is fixed at 10 percent and is set by 
legislation. Historically the eligibility percentages have amounted to 
the following: 

Year                                                              Eligibility Percentage 

1993 ....................................................................................................30 % 
1994 ....................................................................................................24 % 
1995 ....................................................................................................26 % 
1996 ................................................................................................... 20 % 
2000 .................................................................................................. 10 % 

Fiscal Year 
The twelve month period beginning July 1 and ending June 30. 

Grandfathered 
A status given to any recycling center which was in existence on 
January 1, 1986 and has chosen not to accept all types of empty 
beverage containers, pursuant to PRC Section 14572(b). 

HF 
Handling fee 

Handling Fee Application 
Form DR-14 used by recyclers to apply for Handling Fees. 

IKON 
IKON Business Information Service (IKON). Formerly Data-Image 
Systems Corporation, the Department’s fiscal intermediary. 

Monthly Allocation 
The amount determined by the Department as appropriate for 
expenditure for handling fees for a particular month. 
 
Nonprofit convenience zone recycler 
“Nonprofit.convenience.zone.recycler” means a recycling center that 
meets all of the following criteria:
 
 (a) The recycling center is operated by an organization established  
  under Section 501(c) or 501(d) of Title 26 of the United States   
  Code. 

 (b) The recycling center is certified by the Department pursuant to  
  Section 14538.
 
 (c) The recycling center is located within a convenience zone, but  
  is not necessarily a supermarket site. (See PRC Section 14514.7) 

Notice of Denial 
A notice sent by IKON to the operator of sites which were denied 
handling fees. One notice is sent for each denied site, during a 
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particular month and explains why the site was denied. Notice of 
Denial is abbreviated as NOD. 

PRC 
Public Resources Code 

Participant Manual 
A manual prepared by IKON for industry participants of the Act. The 
manual contains basic information concerning the submission of 
documents as required by the accounting and reporting procedures 
regulations and operations policies. 

Receipts and Logs 
Records kept by participants to record and substantiate their 
purchases, pursuant to PRC Section 14573.7. Used as a basis for reports 
and program payments. 

Receipts-and-logs Redemption Weights 
Redemption weights reported on the DR-14 which reflect the 
participant’s receipts and logs. 

Recycling Center 
A recycling operation which is certified by the Department and 
which accepts from consumers, and pays or provides the refund 
value for, empty beverage containers intended to be recycled. 
Recycling Center is abbreviated as RC. 

Redemption Weight 
The weight of the materials redeemed by consumers at the 
participant’s facility. 

Remittance Advice 
A document for mailing the check to the proper entity (recycler) 
which includes the payee’s name and address and a description, for 
the participant, of what is being paid. 

Reporting Month 
The calendar month for which the handling fee application is 
submitted. 

Reverse Vending Machine 
A mechanical device which accepts one or more types of empty 
beverage containers and issues a cash refund or a redeemable credit 
slip with a value not less than the container’s refund value. Reverse 
Vending Machine is abbreviated as RVM. 

Rural Region 
“Rural.region” means a nonurban area identified by the Department 
on an annual basis using Farmers Home Loan Administration criteria. 
Those criteria include, but are not limited to places, open country, 
cities, towns, or census designated places with populations that are 
less than 10,000 persons. The Department may designate an area with 
a population of between 10,000 and 50,000 persons as a rural region, 
unless the area is identified as part of, or associated with, an urban 
area, as determined by the Department on an individual basis. (See 
PRC Section 14571(b)(2)(A).) 
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Rural Region Recycler 
“Rural.region.recycler” means an operator that is certified pursuant 
to subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 
14571, and who accepts or collects empty beverage containers from 
consumers pursuant to Section 14572 with the intention to recycle 
them. (See PRC Section 14525.5.1.) 

State Controller’s Office 
Agency responsible for the actual distribution of the checks for 
handling fees, based on the claims schedule provided by the 
Department. State Controller’s Office is abbreviated as SCO. 

Supermarket Site Recycling Center 
Any certified recycling center which redeems all types of empty 
beverage containers in accordance with Section 14572, and which is 
located within, or outside and immediately adjacent to the entrance 
of, or at, or within a parking lot or loading area surrounding, a 
supermarket which is the focal point of a convenience zone, or a 
dealer that is located within that zone, and which is accessible to 
motor traffic. 
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APPENDIX C: HANDLING FEE APPLICATION (DR-14)

HANDLING FEE APPLICATION
STA TE OF CALIFORNIA

SAM
PLE

 - The Resources Agency
DEPAR TMENT  OF CONSERV ATI ON
Division of Recycling
DR-14 (1/00)

FORM SERIAL NUMBER (FSN):

MONTHLY REPORT
FOR THE MONTH OF ___________________, 20_____

NAME CERT . #

MAILING
ADDRESS

CONTACT CHECK THIS BOX IF YOU HAVE A 
PERSON CHANGE OF MAILING ADDRESS.

TELEPHONE CHECK THIS BOX IF THERE IS A C HANGE OF
NUMBER OWNERSHIP OR CLOSE OF BUSINESS.

                   
In order to be eligible for payment, the Handling Fee Application must be postmarked no later than the first day of the 
second month following the reporting month.  Forms postmarked after this date and incorrectly completed forms will be 
denied for payment and the Handling Fee will be forfeited.

By signing and submitting this form, I certify that the redemption weights reported herein are only for the supermarket site, 
nonprofit convenience zone recycler, or rural region recycler indicated above.  I also certify that I understand that this form 
is an application and that a final determination of eligibility for, and amount of, Handling Fee payments, if any, will be made 
by the Department of Conservation.

Civil penalties of up to five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) per day may be assessed for violation of the laws and regulations 
governing this application.  In addition, the submission of false information with intent to defraud is a crime punishable by 
substantial fines, up to three years of imprisonment, or both. Knowing this, I certify that the facts presented herein are true 
and correct to the best of my knowledge.

RETURN TO: DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION, P.O.BOX 277850, SACRAMENTO, CA 95827

FOR STATE ONLY

Recycler’s Signature/Title Date

RECEIPTS & LOGS RECEIPTS & LOGS
MATERIAL TYPE REDEMPTION WEIGHT MATERIAL TYPE REDEMPTION WEIGHT

(TENTH OF LBS) (TENTH OF LBS)

ALUMINUM PLASTIC   VINYL
• •

GLASS PLASTIC   LDPE 
• •

BI-METAL PLASTIC   PP  
• •

PLASTIC   PETE PLASTIC   PS
• •

PLASTIC   HDPE PLASTIC   OTHER         
• •

FOR STATE USE ONLY
CCN

FOR STATE USE ONLY
POSTMARK              AMOUNT              REC'D BY

PRINTED ON RECYCLED P APER  
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