California has enacted landmark legislation establishing a funding system for the collection and recycling of certain electronic wastes.
Key elements of the Electronic Waste Recycling Act of 2003 that affect product retailers include:
- Requirements on manufacturers to notify retailers regarding scope of covered electronic devices.
- The collection of an electronic waste recycling fee at the retail point of sale of covered electronic devices. A list of covered electronic devices can be found on the Department of Toxic Substance Control (DTSC) managing hazardous waste page, or by visiting Title 22, Division 4.5, Chapter 11, Article 5, Appendix X subsection (c) of the California Code of Regulations (CCR).
- Requirements to remit collected fees to the State to fund the cost of collecting and recycling these covered electronic devices when they are discarded as wastes.
Retailers collect the Electronic Waste Recycling Fee on covered electronic devices from consumers. Retailers remit these fees to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). The latest information on the Electronic Waste Recycling Fee program, including the retailer registration form and fee remittance deadlines, are available at the CDTFA website.
Covered Electronic Waste Recycling Fee
|Categories||2005 to 2008||2009 to 2010||2011 to 2012||2013 to 2016||2017 to 2019||January 1, 2020 Forward|
|More than four inches but less than 15 inches||$6||$8||$6||$3||$5||$4|
|At least 15 inches but less than 35 inches||$8||$16||$8||$4||$6||$5|
|35 inches or more||$10||$25||$10||$5||$7||$6|
As CalRecycle works, in consultation with CDTFA, DTSC, and others, to administer this important legislation, more information will be available through this website. Note that any guidance provided by CalRecycle should not substitute for careful reading of the original statute or subsequent regulations.